Procrastinating, “I Wouldn’t Mind”

I fell into the procrastination trap and am trying to climb up it’s slippery walls as I type up this blog post.

A lot has gone on since my rant about “No technology”, I’ve played a great writers round at Sweet Ces Ces here down in Nashville and have written four new songs in the last three weeks.  Life has been treating me very VERY well :).   I’ve been writing with great friends and things seem to be falling into place without too much problem.

I’m going to post a video of a song I co-wrote with my friend and fellow songwriter Joseph Moore.  It is called, “I Wouldn’t Mind” and being that this is my blog, I’ll explain a little bit about the song.  Pretty much the sessions that Joseph and I have always start out as just a conversation and from that conversation we eventually pick up on something that either on of us had said.  This is exactly how we came up with the idea for “I Wouldn’t Mind”.  I told Joseph, “Hey man.  I wouldn’t mind falling in love” and from that sentence the song was created.  A lot of people find that to be pretty fascinating that songwriters are able to come up with a whole song just from a phrase that someone said.  I, myself, am one of those people and I am thankful I am one of the lucky ones who can do that!

So here is the video and the lyrics to sing along too.  Enjoy it!

 

I Wouldn’t Mind (Joseph Moore/Mark Vikingstad © 2010)

Verse 1:

I wouldn’t mind getting caught outside in the rain and being swept away, as long as it was with you

I wouldn’t mind getting caught up in your eyes for awhile so you can’t help but stay,

CHORUS:

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

Falling in love, with you

Verse 2:

I wouldn’t mind if you called at 3am askin’ baby how you’ve been, and I wouldn’t lie

‘Cause I’ve been dreaming of a girl, who could come and change my world, that’s why I want you here next to me,

CHORUS:

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

I wouldn’t mind falling in love,

Falling in love, with you

Verse 3:

I wouldn’t mind if it snowed outside and you got cold, I’d give you my coat, and I wouldn’t mind

Bridge:

Like a shot of warm sunlight on a cold autumn breeze

And all the times I thought I was in love, this time it’s for real,

You’re like a brand new way to breath, and I just can’t get enough

I wouldn’t mind falling in love with you

BRIDGE/CHORUS:

POST-CHORUS:

I don’t mind, falling in love

falling in love with you

 

I don’t mind, falling in love with you.

 

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

