2nd post, No Technology

My second post is here!  Can you believe it?!  Me either.  I figure that I am off to a good start though, being that it’s the second post in two days.  I can imagine that some people say, “Hey! I’m starting a blog, it’s going to be so interesting and everyone is always going to want to read it etc etc” and then they only post one thing.  Well, I beat all of those people and now am ahead of the game!  That’s probably because I got some good advice from some friends of mine, which was “Write a lot and write often”  Easy enough!

A situation popped into my head today at work after my co-worker had left her phone at home and posed this question, “Man, how did we ever survive without cell-phones?”  I sat on the question for a second and thought, “How did we?” and not only phones, technology in general.   We all seem to be ruled by the, tweet, the news feed, the profile and the status update.  I’m not saying that I’m not ruled by it either, hell I’m on my phone just as much as the next facebook addicted 20 something, but when the question is really thought about, it is kind of sad and depressing.  I mean I could only imagine what would happen if there was no technology at all; it would be a chaos and anarchy, but if it were to be for just one day, maybe it wouldn’t be so bad.   A day without phones, computers, media, and TV sounds terrible for some people, but for some with an open mind, it could be one of the greatest days of their life.  There would be no plan. Everything would be played by ear and there would be no distractions from working on something productive or something artistic.  Maybe in a day without technology you’d find the quality time with family that you were looking for.  For myself, I know that I would most likely write for most of the day, go outside and enjoy/see the beauty of nature in a different way.  Yeah, that sounds sort of cheesy, but it’s the truth haha.  So I ask you, whoever is reading this blog, what would you do?  Would you be one to complain? or one who would enjoy a day free of tweets, ringtones, and status updates.  Let me know!  I’m actually curious.

Well this post is sort of not what I would normally want to write about, first it has pretty much nothing to do with my music or my writing and second, I’m rambling on about a situation that may never arise ever! Pretty swell if you ask me!

Now it’s time to start thinking about the next one… hmmm…

 

 

 

  1. #1 by Sara on October 21, 2010 - 10:48 pm

    Interesting topic Mark. I would honestly feel a sense of relief if there was no technology for a day. I used to be so agaist making a MySpace and Facebook but once my friends pressured me to join there was no turning back. It can be addicting and it seems that this is the only way people know how to communicate today. Sometimes I feel like I’m living in the dark ages because I still prefer an old fashioned phone call over a text. Online communication is very important but there are few people that abuse this freedom. I would probably have more time to do the things I love like play drums, run, spend time with my cats, and sleep lol. With all of this technology, some people may forget that face to face relationship are just as important as online networking.

  2. #2 by Ed Iacona on October 23, 2010 - 1:06 am

    The problem with modern technology is that it has surpassed our ability to use it…. Below is a little chapter from my book “STORIES THAT RHYME…Yagaddaprablmwiddat?”

    AT MY TECH AND CALL
    Ed Iacona

    Modern technology’s a wonder
    Just amazing this I know
    If I get lost there’s my GPS
    That will tell me where to go.

    If I am bored at home alone
    And want to have some fun,
    I can play against Nintendo Wii
    Although I have never won.

    For my mathematical prowess
    I realize there’s no flattery.
    But, thanks to my calculator
    I’m as good as a fresh battery

    My cherished old film camera
    Is no longer photographically hip.
    Instead it is all about pixels
    Stored on a memory chip.

    No need to know ’bout shutter speeds
    And “F” stops as in back in the day.
    No need to know my elbow
    From my ASA

    I wonder what auld Scottish
    Poet Robert Burns would say
    Were he around to take a look
    At this our modern day?

    O wad some power
    The giftie will sink us.
    To own devices that
    Can out think us.

Leave a Reply

